The University Council

Presided over by a Chairman, the University Council is the highest decision making body of the University.

To ensure the attainment of the aims of the Institution, the University Council among other things:

  • Eetermines the strategic direction of the University;
  • Ensures the promotion of applied research including the provision of technology innovations and solutions to firms and businesses as part of the outreach activities of the University;
  • Ensures the development and establishment of linkages and collaboration with relevant national and international industries and institutions in furtherance of the mission of the University
  • Ensures coherence of programmes and courses of the University with the other sub-sectors of the educational system
  • Ensures relevance of the programmes and courses of the University to the employment and productive sectors of the economy;
  • Performs any other functions that are ancillary to the aims of the University



Prof. Emmanuel James Flolu  Chairman
Prof. Ben Q. Honyenuga Vice-Chancellor
Dr. Christopher Amehoe Registrar and Secretary to Council
Ms. Justine Rebecca A. Okyerewaa-Okyere Government Nominee
Mr. Michael Afrifa Darko Government Nominee
Mrs. Eva Haizel Government Nominee
Mr. Dela Gadzanku Representative of Association of Ghana Industries
Mr. Harry Peter Adjimah Representative of APTI
Mr. Newman Dziedzoave Representative of CHASS
Dr. Richard F. Turkson Representative of Convocation (Teaching)
Edem  K. Honu Representative of Convocation (Non-Teaching)
Mr. François Mahama Representative of Teaching Staff Association
Mr. Ernest Mark Takuh Representative of Senior Staff Association
Mr. Godwin Atadi   Representative of Junior Staff Association
Dr. Divine Tuinese Novieto Representative of ALUMNI Association
Mr. Emmanuel Martey Representative of SRC

In Attendance

Dr.  Edward K. Ayimey Ag.Pro Vice-Chancellor
Mr. Augustine K. Owusu Director of Finance

Back to top